Events

Redwood Empire Rose Society

Program Schedule for 2018

FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

Thursday meetings are held at the Luther Burbank Art & Garden Center, located at
2050 Yulupa Avenue in Santa Rosa. Refreshments are served at 7pm with a short business meeting at 7:30pm, followed by a 60‐minute educational program.
Event date/times are as listed.

DATE
EVENT
Jan 13, Saturday
Pruning Presentation and Demonstration 9am-12:30pm: Short lecture on the basics
of pruning various types of roses and tool sharpening by Barbara Ellis (Past RERS
President, Consulting Rosarian); followed by a hands-on demonstration in the Center’s
Rose Garden by Karen Ernsberger (RERS President, Consulting Rosarian,
Horticultural and Arrangement Judge). Stay and help with the garden pruning!

Feb 15 Thursday
Integrated Pest Management

March 15 Thursday
No meeting

April 19 Thursday
Petite Rose Show (bring some of your roses and see how they should be groomed and
placed) and Rose Show Workshop: basic preparation by Consulting Rosarians and
Exhibitors; understanding the Rose Show Schedule and entering bouquets versus
arrangements by Karen Ernsberger

May 5 Saturday
Rose Show at the Luther Burbank Art & Garden Center: Anyone can enter roses in
the Show! Contact Karen Ernsberger at klekrose@sbcglobal.net, if interested.
Bring your friends and family to see the exhibits from 1pm-4pm. Potted Rose bushes
for sale.

May 17 Thursday
Awards Dinner Potluck: Join us to celebrate our Rose Show winners with a delicious
potluck on the beautiful patio of the Center.

June 21 Thursday
Rose Garden Maintenance Meeting: Members of the public are welcome to join our
RERS members for an evening sprucing up the Rose Garden.

July 19 Thursday
Summer Pruning in the Rose Garden at LBAGC.

Aug 16 No Meeting

Sept 20 Thursday
Bee Keeping TBD

Oct 18 Thursday
Flower Arranging TBD

Nov 15 Thursday
Harvest Holiday Potluck and Installation of 2019 RERS Board

Dec 20 Thursday

No Meeting

loading